Apr 232014

hurling1A sunny Easter Sunday afternoon at Durrow GAA grounds was the place to be as the Harps took on Ballypickas in the opening round of League 2 hurling. While the crowds had a sweet aftertaste in their mouths from Easter Eggs, the scoring from the Harps would go one better on the tastebuds! The Harps played fantastic hurling throughout the game despite being without the services of Richie Saunders who will be on county duty this Saturday (April 26th) with the minors when they play Offaly in Tullamore. The Harps were full value for their two league points and top the table on scoring difference as a result.

The Harps were dominant in all lines of the field, John Dunne commanded the full back position clearing great ball, linking up with Pat Walsh, James Lappin and Kieran Freeman around the midfield zone who in turn set up great scoring opportunities for the forwards. Brian Clancy was in fine form in centre forward and was the scorer in chief for the home-side with Greg Aylward confident over the placed ball converting pretty much everything that came his way. Indeed all the forwards were on top form driving up a big score against a Ballypickas side who never got into the game. The Harps backs were dominant throughout, snuffing out any attempts from the Ballypickas lads to get a run of scoring.

Full Time Score: The Harps 5-19 v 1-08 Ballypickas. Next up in the League Division 2 is Park-Rathineska this Saturday 26th April at 7pm in Rathineska GAA grounds.

Managements Thoughts: Speaking to theharpsgaa.com after the match a member of the management team was in full praise of the team for the work ethic showed and was delighted to get the league off to a winning start, emphasizing that winning becomes a habit when such hard work is applied during every game.

The Harps: 1 – Pater Walsh; 2 – Sean Cahill; 3 – John Dunne; 4 – Aaron Dunne (Ciaran Costigan on 45th minute); 5 – Conor Brophy; 6 – Tommy Moore; 7 – Ross Young; 8 – James Lappin; 9 – Kieran Freeman; 10 – Greg Aylward; 11 – Brian Clancy; 12 – Pat Walsh; 13 – Conor Deegan; 14 – Niall Brophy; 15 – Tadgh Sullivan.