Apr 272014

20140427_182249The Harps Junior Hurlers welcomed Ballypickas to Durrow GAA grounds in the third round of the Division 5 hurling league. Clear blue sky with a light breeze made it a perfect evening for hurling. The light breeze favoured Ballypickas in the opening half, but the Harps did not seem to allow this disadvantage to affect their game. It was Ballypickas who scored first with a point from a placed ball. Three minutes later the Harps’ Rory Doyle opened the home sides account with a fine point from play. Hot on the heels of that came two rapid fire scores from Shane Tyrell (point) and Freddie Townsend (goal) both from play. Freddie Townsend followed up with another point from play three minutes later to stamp his intent on the evenings proceedings.

The following fifteen minutes was a dominant spell for free takers, Ballypickas fired over one of their own with the Harps’ Shane Tyrell chipping over three to leave the score at 1-06 to 0-02 with half time approaching. Freddie Townsend and Rory Doyle added two further points from play to leave the half time score The Harps 1-08 V 0-02 Ballypickas. At half time the Harps made a substitution with James Larkin being replaced by David Doheny.

Shane Tyrell points for The Harps on the 20th minute in the first half to the appreciation of Gerry Brophy.

The second half got underway with Ballypickas scoring a point from play. Shane Tyrell pointed a free moments later and was followed up with two rapid fire points by Freddie Townsend, both from play. Ballypickas responded with a point from play but Danny Delahunty who had replaced Darren Maher as a blood sub earlier in the game popped over a point to keep the Harps well in front. Freddie Townsend added to his evening’s tally with another point from play mid-way through the second half. Following that score Padraig Spencer replaced David O Shoughnessy who had given a solid performance at centre back all evening.

20140427_182616Ballypickas began to claw their way back into the game with two points from play and after Shane Tyrell popped over a 65 for the homeside Ballypickas grabbed a goal to cut the deficit to 8 points, The Harps 1-14 to 1-06 with ten minutes remaining as Colm Dunphy replaced Niall Mullins. The Harps pushed on to close out the game with two frees converted by Shane Tyrell and two points from play by Colm Dunphy and Donnacha Quinn. Shane Fitzpatrick was brought on for Donnacha Quinn with just a few minutes remaining on the clock.

The final score: The Harps 1-18 V 1-06 Ballypickas. The Harps are now top of Division 5 with three wins from three games played and a scoring advantage of +26 points.

The Harps: 1 – Justin Brophy; 2 – Niall Donoghue; 3 – Cathal Phelan; 4 – Aaron Dunne; 5 – James Larkin; 6 – David O Shaughnessy; 7 – Ciaran Costigan; 8 – Donnacha Quinn; 9  – Rory Moore; 10 – Shane Tyrell; 11 – Niall Mullins; 12 – Darren Maher; 13 – Eoin O Sullivan; 14 – Freddie Townsend; 15 – Rory Doyle.