Sep 282018

SHOW YOUR SUPPORT: With the upcoming Senior and Minor County Finals – Flags of all sizes, car flags and bunting in The Harps colours are now on sale in Lawlor’s Gala, Durrow and in Bergin’s Topaz in Cullohill.

The Senior Hurlers will play in the Senior A Final against Portlaoise at 2pm next Sunday, October 7th in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise. Please come along and support the lads!
The Harps Minors are also getting ready for next Sunday’s final – in Portlaoise at 12.15pm. 

Sep 132018

THE HARPS GAA CLUB: Race Night: Our Annual Race Night is on Saturday, September 22nd in Lennons Venue, Durrow. Horses are currently on sale from players and committee members. We appeal to everyone to support this important fundraiser that finances the running costs associated in fielding our teams for the year. Many thanks for your ongoing support

May 032018

LAOIS ROSE 2018: Local woman Niamh Clancy been nominated as one of the Laois Roses and the selection night will be held on this Sunday, 6th May where the prestigious Laois Rose 2018 will be announced. Proceeds of a raffle on the night will go towards the GAA of the winning Rose as each Rose has nominated a GAA Club to receive money for their nominated club to go towards jerseys and hurls etc… Niamh Clancy, Fermoyle, Durrow has been kindly sponsored by CastleDurrow and everybody in the community wishes her the very best of luck! Please keep an eye out on social media and get behind her by liking and sharing posts!

Read more about the Niamh in this week’s Leinster Express Newspaper – [CLICK HERE]

Mar 132018

Cabaret for Harps Minors: Next Saturday (St. Patrick’s Night) a cabaret will be held in The Sportsman’s Inn, Cullohill. This is a fundraiser for the Harps Minors who travel to Mayo on April 6th and 7th where they will climb Croagh Patrick – among other things. Admission is €5 with couples also €5 – two for the price of one!!! It should be an entertaining night with DJ Alan Doran – all support most appreciated.

Laois Team News: Three members of the Harps U17 hurling panel have been chosen on the panel of Laois U17 to play in Tier 1 of the Leinster MHC where they will play Wexford (away), Dublin (home) and Kilkenny (away) over their three games with the first game on May 12th. We wish Lorcan Fitzpatrick, Jim Kirby and Billy McEvoy all from The Harps the very best of luck.

Harps Minors start new season: The Harps Minors (U17s) have been training for the last number of weeks and now get their leagues underway this weekend with two games. On Saturday evening they travel to Rosenallis for a football game and then on Sunday morning they play their first game in the hurling league in Errill where they take on Rathdowney-Errill. This year the team is also entered into the Kilkenny Minor League where they will get excellent games – the first game here is on March 26th against Graigue-Ballycallan.

Mar 062018

THE HARPS GAA CLUB: Bonus Ball Draw: Well done to Conor Murphy who won the February prize!
Annual County Board Draw: The Harps GAA Club appeal to everyone to support the Annual County Board Draw which is a massive fundraiser for the Club. Tickets are currently on sale from all committee members and adult players until March 6th at 9pm. Why not buy one in conjunction with a friend? There are lots of prizes to be won with a massive €10,000 top prize in each of the four monthly draws. The first of four draws is on March 7th.

Jan 212018

You are invited to attend a public consultation workshop on the future of Durrow on Thursday 25th January at 7.00pm in the Castle Arms, Durrow.
With the support of Laois Partnership, Durrow Development Forum have engaged Sean Crowley, a Community Planner to assist with the preparation of a community plan for Durrow the next five year period, 2018-2023.
The workshop will an opportunity to discuss your views on what project proposals are key to support the ongoing social and economic development of the area.
The Community Plan is essential to support the coordination of projects and initiatives required for our local community and the completion of report will be a key resource to aid funding applications to local, regional and national development agencies.
Your views and contributions would be greatly appreciated. All are welcome to attend. For any information please contact Sean Crowley at or by phone at (087) 9873489. Durrow Development Forum invite all householders, businesses, clubs and organisations to be involved in the Durrow Town Plan.

Jan 212018

The Annual General Meeting of the Harps GAA Club was held on Sunday, 7th of January in Cullohill Community Centre and was well attended. Last year’s secretary’s report was read out by David Finnegan while last year’s treasurers report was read out by Imelda Galvin. This was followed by the Chairman’s address before the election of officers and the club’s committee took place.
The election of officers and the committee were as follows: President: Jimmy Fogarty; Chairman: Seamus Campion; Vice Chairman: Gabby Irwin; Secretary: David Finnegan; Assistant Secretary & PRO: Daniel Dunne; Treasurer: Imelda Galvin; Assistant Treasurer: Barry Murphy; County Board Delegate: Tommy Walsh; Health & Safety and Player Welfare: Maura Galvin; Health & Wellbeing: Tommy Kenna; Childrens’ Officer: Claire Delahunty; Coaching Officer: Conor Murphy; Cultural Officer: Donal Deegan.
Committee: Albert Townsend, Pat Barnaville, Eamon Spencer, Sean Conroy, Noel Delaney, Mick Fitzpatrick, Brian Farrell, Richie Comerford, Tommy Moore, Conor Dunne, Kevin Galvin Senior, Noel Kirby and Enda Murphy.

Jan 212018

The Harps U6 Hurling Team

HARPS GAA JUVENILE AGM 2017: The Harps Juvenile AGM was held in Cullohill Community Centre on Friday, 5th January, 2018 with a sizeable number of members in attendance. The meeting heard detailed reports from the outgoing Officers in relation to the activities of the Juvenile section of the club during 2017.

The Officers elected for 2018 were as follows: Chairman – Brain Farrell; Secretary – Enda Murphy; Treasurer – Sean Dunphy. The outgoing Chairman, Noel Kirby, was thanked for all of his hard work and dedication in the role over the last four years.

One of the main issues discussed at the meeting related to the new age structures which are being introduced at Juvenile level in Laois and at national level for 2018. These changes will mean that juvenile grades will be structured at Under 7, 9, 11, 13 and 15 in 2018 with the Under 17 grade being reclassified as Minor level.

Training for all the Harps Juvenile teams will commence in the coming weeks and team mentors will be in contact with parents with more detailed information. The club also intends to hold its annual indoor Nursery Programme during February/March.

Jan 212018

The Harps GAA Club appeal to everyone to support the Annual County Board Draw which is a massive fundraiser for the Club. Tickets are currently on sale from all committee members and adult players until February 28th. Why not buy one in conjunction with a friend? There are lots of prizes to be won with a massive €10,000 top prize in each of the four monthly draws.