Apr 252017

The Harps GAA Club are considering setting up a Supporters WhatsApp Broadcast Service to keep club members and supporters alike up-to-date on Club activities. Should there be significant interest in the service, the club will look at rolling it out in the very near future. The club aim to use the service to highlight fixtures, results and other newsworthy items. 

It is important to highlight that this service is different to a traditional WhatsApp group whereby anyone in the group can message the whole group – this will not be the case, so there will no need to be worried about getting potentially hundreds of alerts every day! A broadcast service is sent directly from the Club to your phone and any replies sent will only be to the club’s service desk.

Let us know your thoughts on our Facebook page.

Mar 312017

Laois GAA will be hosting a Go-Games Referee Course on Saturday, 8th April from 10am-1pm and Monday, 10th April from 6pm-9pm in the Laois GAA Offices, Parkside, Portlaoise (behind O’Moore Park). Anyone who wishes to attend only needs to attend one of the events.
This is for anyone (male and female) from 14-19 years who is interested in refereeing Go Games at Under-8 and Under-10 level. FREE ENTRY
This course would also be of assistance to anyone who wishes to apply for Cul Camp work during the Summer.
Any queries please contact Laois GAA (057) 8660674 or email administrator.laois@gaa.ie

NOTE: Everyone is asked to wear tracksuit, runners and bring football boots as some pratical work will also be done on adjoining pitches.

BOOKING THROUGH EVENTBRITE ONLY: https://www.eventbrite.ie/e/laois-gaa-go-games-referee-course-2017-tickets-33046934270

Anyone who books before April 3rd will be entered into a draw for the chance to referee in Croke Park on April 11th.

Feb 132017

Annual County Board Draw: The Harps GAA Club appeal to everyone to support the Annual County Board Draw which is a massive fundraiser for the Club. Tickets are currently on sale from all committee members and adult players until February 28th. Why not buy one in conjunction with a friend?

Feb 062017

Smash Hits Night: Keep your diary free for March 11th when The Harps GAA will hold a fundraiser in Lennons Venue, Durrow. The massively popular Smash Hits group will perform songs that have thrilled audiences all across the UK and Ireland on the night. Keep an eye out on Social Media for further details and competitions to win some tickets for the event!!!

Feb 012017

Floodlit Ball Wall: Plans are underway to mark the completion of floodlighting at our new Ball Wall in the coming weeks. Keep an eye out on social media and in shop windows across the parish for details when they emerge.

Jan 302017

AGM: The Annual General Meeting of the Harps GAA Club was held on Sunday, 8th of January 2017 in the Clubhouse Gym Hall and was well attended. The officers elected were as follows; President: Jimmy Fogarty; Chairman: Seamus Campion; Vice Chairman: Gabby Irwin; Secretary: David Finnegan; Assistant Secretary & PRO: Daniel Dunne; Treasurer: Imelda Galvin; Assistant Treasurer: Barry Murphy; County Delegate: Tommy Walsh; Health & Safety and Player Welfare: Maura Galvin; Health & Wellbeing: Tommy Kenna; Childrens’ Officer: Nicola Walshe; Coaching Officer: Conor Murphy; Cultural Officer: Donal Deegan. Committee: Albert Townsend, Pat Barnaville, Claire Delahunty, Sean Conroy, Noel Delaney, Dan Deegan, Mick Fitzpatrick, Brian Farrell, Richie Comerford, Tommy Moore, Breda Dunne, Kevin Galvin, Noel Kirby and Barney O’Connor.

Jan 292017

Congratulations to Larry Mahony who won The Harps GAA’s Third Time Lucky Lotto draw on Saturday, 21st of January last. Larry’s lucky number, 45 was the bonus ball in the National Lottery’s main draw on the night clinching the win for Larry. The Club Chairman, Seamus Campion presented Larry with his cheque shortly after the draw, thanking Larry for his ongoing support for the Club.

Jan 282017

The Harps GAA Club were delighted to have been allocated a development grant of €15,000 from the Leinster Council recently. Club Chairman and Secretary David Finnegan were both in attendance at the Leinster Council GAA Offices in Portlaoise on Monday last to collect the cheque which will be used to fund the ongoing developments at the club’s facilities.

“Much work has taken place over the past three years with a new Gym complex, Ball Wall with Floodlighting and associated groundsworks which will serve all our players both young and old long into the future.” said the Chairman following the award. “I would also like to thank David Finnegan, Club Secretary for his work in developing the plan when applying for this grant, he was instrumental in getting this grant awarded to The Harps” concluded the Chairman.

Jan 272017

Presentation Night: On Saturday, 28th of January, at 7pm the Castle Arms Hotel will host an evening to honour our victorious U17s who won County honours in both Hurling and Football and our Minor Footballers who also won County honours. All are most welcome to attend. We ask that all share this on Social Media where possible.