Jul 132014

Harps-Clonad-League-Final-2014The Harps Seniors met Clonad in the Division 1A Hurling League Final on Sunday, July 6th as part of a double-header in Rathdowney and following on from the Junior Bs earlier victory, the spectators were hoping for a double-win. The Seniors have had a fantastic run under the stewardship of Tommy Bawle, Freddie Townsend and Sean Conroy also reaching this final unbeaten.

The opening five minutes saw a blitz from The Harps as they registered 1-02 with Brian Dunne grabbing the goal following a visionary pass from Brian Galvin. The Harps and Clonad both traded points for the remainder of the half with John Brophy giving an exhibition from play and placed balls for The Harps whilst Kevin Bergin from play and Seoirse Conroy from frees did similarly for Clonad. Ross Young also scored an brilliant free from inside The Harps’ 65. Coming up to the short whistle, Kevin Galvin made a great save to leave the half time score The Harps 1-11 V 0-06 Clonad.

Clonad were first to score at the start of the second half with a fine Seoirse Conroy free, however the Harps replied to it with Eoin Clancy rattling the net for the first of his two goals following a great run by Brian Clancy. Credit to Clonad, they kept battling and Kevin Bergin scored a point following the goal. Bergin added another point five minutes later. Next though, Conor Brophy scored a brilliant point for The Harps from the sideline in the 18th minute to put the league table toppers further in front. Clonad’s only goal came in the 23rd minute but The Harps were unfazed and as John Brophy added more frees. Eoin Clancy scored his second goal of the night after an excellent pass from John Brophy to ensure a well taken victory with the final score: The Harps 3-18 V 1-11 Clonad.

Scorers: The Harps: John Brophy 0-10 (0-05 frees), Eoin Clancy 2-02, Brian Dunne 1-00, Conor Brophy 0-02, John Prior 0-01, Sean Bourke 0-01, Ronan Delahunty 0-01, Ross Young 0-01f. Clonad: Seoirse Conroy 0-08f, Kevin Bergin 0-03, Michael Kerr 1-00, Colin Delaney 0-01.

The Harps: Kevin Galvin, Shane Phelan, Brian Galvin, John Prior, Ross Young, Conor Dunne, Conor Brophy, Barry Dunne, Gavin Dunne, Brian Clancy, Ronan Delahunty, John Brophy, Eoin Clancy, Brian Dunne, Sean Bourke. Subs: James Lappin for Brian Clancy, Richie Saunders for Ross Young, Tadhg O’ Sullivan for Eoin Clancy.

Clonad: Jimmy Farrell, Denis Sheeran, Sean Egan, Daniel Goode, Martin Norton, James Ging, Emmet Ging, Seoirse Conroy, Paul Ging, Paddy Norton, Michael Kerr, Kevin Bergin, Shane Cahill, Sean Kerr, Ger Corcoran. Subs: Colin Delaney for Ger Corcoran.

Referee: Ciaran Bowe of Rathdowney.

Photo: Brian Clancy battles with Denis Sheeran of Clonad. Picture: Alf Harvey/hrphoto.ie