Jul 132014

2014-JuniorB-Hurling-League-WinThe Harps Junior Bs met Borris-Kilcotton in the Division 5 Hurling League Final on Sunday, July 6th as part of a double-header in Rathdowney which served as a curtain raiser to the Senior Final later that evening. The Junior Bs have had a fantastic run under the stewardship of Justin Brophy, David O’Shaughnessy and Padraig Henderson reaching this final unbeaten.

The Harps were quickest off the mark with Colm Dunphy raising the white flag for the table-toppers. Borris-Kilcotton though were quick to respond when Niall Jones found space to pop over his first of the night. Jones followed up with another point to give the Borris-Kilcotton men a slim lead. With wind advantage for the first half, The Harps used this well to launch long ball after long ball into the forward line and it began to pay off when Shane Tyrell and Eoin O’Sullivan both pointed to put the Harps back in front after the first quarter.

Borris-Kilcotton got a boost in the sixteenth minute when some calamity in the Harps defence allowed a sideline free from the stick of Damian Kelly to somehow make it to the net. This goal seemed to stir a sleeping giant in The Harps as they roared back into the game scoring points at ease with some well taken scores, most notably Albert Townsends over-the-shoulder pop and Shane Fitzpatrick’s long-range post-splitter to bring the half time scoreline: The Harps 0-10 V 1-04 Borris-Kilcotton.

The second half was a game of defence for the Harps, playing against the wind now meant that Borris-Kilcotton would launch high ball down – and great credit to the back line they hooked and harried gallantly denying Borris-Kilcotton much scoring opportunity. At the other end, the breeze made life equally as difficult for the forwards but Shane Tyrell soldiered well and matched Borris-Kilcotton’s four second half points to ensure a victory for the Harps. Final Score: The Harps 0-14 v 1-08 Borris-Kilcotton.

Scorers: The Harps: Shane Tyrell 0-07 (0-05f), Colm Dunphy 0-02, Eoin O’ Sullivan, Albert Townsend, Shane Fitzpatrick, Rory Moore and Fred Townsend 0-01 each. Borris-in-Ossory/Kilcotton: Damien Kelly 1-01f, Eoin Fitzpatrick 0-03, Niall Jones 0-02, Michael Bowe and Jonathan Dwyer 0-01 each.

The Harps: Justin Brophy, Niall Donohue, Aaron Dunne, Cathal Phelan, Ciaran Costigan, Shane Fitzapatrick, David Doheny, Rory Moore, Darren Maher, Shane Tyrell, Brian Farrell, Fred Townsend, Colm Dunphy, Albert Townsend, Eoin O’Sullivan. Subs: Rory Doyle for Darren Maher, Shane Brophy for Eoin O’Sullivan, James Larkin for Brian Farrell.

Borris-in-Ossory/Kilcotton: Danny Brennan, Brian Comerford, Tom Kelly, Denis Coss (yellow card), Ciarán Sweeney, Ronan Kelly (captain), DJ Kelly, Jonathan Dwyer, Damien Kelly, Trevor Abbott, Niall Jones, Stephen Campion, Garry Dollard, Tony Doran, Michael Bowe. Subs: Redmond Murray for Tony Doran, Barry Foyle for Brian Comerfrod, Colm Fitzpatrick for Michael Bowe, Eoin Fitzpatrick for Damien Kelly.

Referee: James Maher (Rathdowney).

Photo: Peter O’Neill presents the trophy to The Harps captain Fred Townsend. Picture: Alf Harvey/hrphoto.ie